Listen Live Graphics (Indy)
Morning Hustle Banner
Hot 96.3 Featured Video

Kelis at Lovebox 2012.

It’s been a minute since we’ve seen Kelis working the scene, but she was all over the red carpets this past weekend as she attended a few Grammy festivities, and now we know why.  Our girl has a new album coming!

Back in 2003, it was Kelis’ ‘Milkshake’ that was bringing all the boys to the yard, but it’s her ‘Jerk Ribs,’ ‘Cobbler’ and ‘Fish Fry’ that’s keeping them there. Those are the titles of just a few tracks that will be included on her upcoming sixth album, Food, which will be making its way to shelves on April 22.

She recently dished to Hip Hollywood:

My new album is called Food. It comes out April 22nd. Dave Sitek produced it. It’s full band. It’s got horn sections and strings and orchestra. It’s very dramatic. And I’m really excited about it. I don’t rush to put albums out. I kinda like to wallow in them for a bit. So it’s one of those!

On the inspiration behind the yummy album title:

We were recording in a house. It was Dave’s house and he lives really close to me so… It was a huge band. People were there and people are hungry. And so we were eating, recording and singing and eating some more. So it became… [Food]. That was the plan but that’s just what it ended up being because that’s just who we are, which was nice because it was just really natural and felt really good and tasted really good, too.

We bet! Peep the tracklisting.

1. Jerk Ribs

2. Breakfast

3. Forever Be

4. Floyd

5. Runner

6. Hooch

7. Cobbler

8. Bless The Telephone

9. Fish Fry

10. Change

11. Rumble

12. Biscuits ‘n’ Gravy

13. Dreamer

My stomach’s growling just reading the titles!

According to a press release, we can also expect Food to be “a soul record that’s as raw and alternative as it is classic.”

While we patiently wait for April 22nd, check out her funky first single “Jerk Ribs.”

via NecoleBitchie

First Milkshakes…Now Food! Kelis Is Back With New Album!

Kelis Blows $400,000 Hole in Tax Debt

Kelis Wants To Satisfy Your Appetite With New Album ‘Food’ [Listen To New Track ‘Jerk Ribs’  was originally published on